Difference between revisions of "Working on a CSA Project"

From OCAD 12 Wiki - English
Jump to: navigation, search
(Editing)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
[[Category:Client Server Architecture]]
 
[[Category:Client Server Architecture]]
 
==Editing==
 
==Editing==
 +
New objects can be drawn as you know it from normal OCAD projects, but when you are finished, you will have to check it in. For drawing new objects follow the list below from point 3 on. If you want to edit an object you will first have to check it out. Make sure that you have the right to edit objects.
 +
1. Select an object you want to edit. Select multiple objects to edit more than one object.
 +
2. Click the Check out Selected Objects icon in the Server/Client toolbar. The selected objects are now checked out, which means that nobody else is allowed to make modifications on these objects at the moment.
 +
3. Edit the checked out objects or, if you are creating new objects, draw them. Click the Delete Objects in Database button or press the Alt and the Delete key together to delete an object from the server. Note that you have to check out the object to be deleted first. If you delete an object with just the Delete button, the object will be deleted only in the current view but will remain on the server. By clicking the Get Objects from Current View button it will show up again.
 +
4. When finished, you have to check in the objects again. There are two possible ways to do so:
 +
a. Select all edited or drawn objects and click the Check in Selected Objects icon from the Server/Client toolbar.
 +
b. Click the Show Checked out Objects icon from the Server/Client toolbar. The Checked out Objects dialog appears with a table of all checked out objects. This is a non-modal dialog which means that it can be stayed opened when editing the map. If the Reload automatically option is checked the table is updated automatically when you check out an object. Otherwise you will have to click the Reload button. Click an object in the table to show it on the map. Click the Check in all objects button to check all objects in.
 +
If you try to edit an object which is not checked out an error message will appear. When a project is closed without checking in the objects, all of them are checked in automatically.
 +
 
==Undo and Redo==
 
==Undo and Redo==
 
==Generate Map Preview==
 
==Generate Map Preview==

Revision as of 11:21, 31 August 2012

Editing

New objects can be drawn as you know it from normal OCAD projects, but when you are finished, you will have to check it in. For drawing new objects follow the list below from point 3 on. If you want to edit an object you will first have to check it out. Make sure that you have the right to edit objects. 1. Select an object you want to edit. Select multiple objects to edit more than one object. 2. Click the Check out Selected Objects icon in the Server/Client toolbar. The selected objects are now checked out, which means that nobody else is allowed to make modifications on these objects at the moment. 3. Edit the checked out objects or, if you are creating new objects, draw them. Click the Delete Objects in Database button or press the Alt and the Delete key together to delete an object from the server. Note that you have to check out the object to be deleted first. If you delete an object with just the Delete button, the object will be deleted only in the current view but will remain on the server. By clicking the Get Objects from Current View button it will show up again. 4. When finished, you have to check in the objects again. There are two possible ways to do so: a. Select all edited or drawn objects and click the Check in Selected Objects icon from the Server/Client toolbar. b. Click the Show Checked out Objects icon from the Server/Client toolbar. The Checked out Objects dialog appears with a table of all checked out objects. This is a non-modal dialog which means that it can be stayed opened when editing the map. If the Reload automatically option is checked the table is updated automatically when you check out an object. Otherwise you will have to click the Reload button. Click an object in the table to show it on the map. Click the Check in all objects button to check all objects in. If you try to edit an object which is not checked out an error message will appear. When a project is closed without checking in the objects, all of them are checked in automatically.

Undo and Redo

Generate Map Preview

Offline Work

Maintenance

Bookmarks

Project Information

Object History